faux-niversary

I am working in Ottawa for 2 months…from the end of July until the end of September. Unfortunately my husband is back home. This means that we won’t be together for our one year wedding anniversary. So we decided to celebrate it last Sunday.

First up, we thawed some frozen pizza dough left over from Valentine’s Day. This is the dough recipe from the Breadbaker’s Apprentice…it is SO delicious, although it does take some planning ahead. Since I was leaving I didn’t want to buy anything for toppings and so I made do with what I had in the house…some pesto from the freezer, carmelized onions, mushrooms, and roasted red peppers. This was soooo good! I think pesto needs to always be on my pizza from now on.

For dessert we thawed the traditional pieces of wedding cake that have been in our freezer. I had forgotten how good this cake was. I couldn’t find a bakery in town that would make a vegan wedding cake, and so I put out an online ad saying that we were looking for a cake maker and that I would provide the vegan recipes. We found a lady who is an awesome cake maker and was more than happy to experiment with Vegan Cupcakes take over the World. Here is the thawed cake complete with some rose petals from the wedding:

And here is what the cake actually looked like at the wedding – SO amazing!

5 Responses to “faux-niversary”


  1. 1 Kiersten July 23, 2010 at 2:14 am

    It’s nice that you guys were able to celebrate your anniversary together, even if it was a little early. Next time I make pizza I am going to try putting pesto on it. Sounds yummy.

  2. 2 mihl July 23, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Happy anniversary! I can’t believe you still had wedding cake in your freezer. Mine would have been gone a long time ago!

  3. 3 kala July 25, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    What a beautiful cake, happy anniversary!

  4. 4 chow vegan July 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Awesome wedding cake! the pizza looks great too. Your wedding is beautiful looking! Happy anniversary! :-)

  5. 5 Jenny August 1, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Aww…how fun! That makes me think of how fun it was to get our wedding cake out of the freezer on our 1st anniversary. Your wedding cake – and your dress! – were beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Food Photos

VPITS Key Lime Pie

VPITS Key Lime Pie

Vcon chocolate raspberry cookie

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,829 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

