Silver Hills Bread

Recently I received a coupon for a loaf of free bread from Silver Hills. All of their bread is made with organic, sprouted whole grains without any flour. There are quite a few different varieties, including flax, chia seeds, apples, etc.

For my loaf I chose “The Big 16″ which is made up of 16 different grains (sprouted wheat, oats, flax, sunflower seeds, millet, sprouted triticale, sprouted rye, sprouted barley, buckwheat, corn, brown rice, sprouted spelt, sprouted kamut, sesame seeds, amaranth, and quinoa).

I quite liked this bread. As is the case with most sprouted bread, it is ‘denser’ and ‘chewier’ than regular bread, so if you are not used to that you might find it weird. However I found it to be much lighter than Ezekiel bread. I don’t eat much bread and usually I don’t have any in the house, but when I do buy bread it’s typically Ezekiel. I think from now on I might switch to Silver Hills. I only with they made hot dog and hamburger buns like Ezekiel does.

Here’s a slice of the Big 16 bread smeared with peanut butter and jam….yum!

3 Responses to “Silver Hills Bread”


  1. 1 miss v July 15, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    sunflower seeds are my fave in bread. and i totally dig the dense breads!

  2. 2 Jessica July 15, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Wow, that looks amazing!!

  3. 3 Jenny July 16, 2010 at 3:45 am

    I’ve never seen this bread before. How did you get a free coupon? I just came across your blog recently…I enjoyed reading your About Me!


Leave a Reply

Food Photos

VPITS Key Lime Pie

VPITS Key Lime Pie

Vcon chocolate raspberry cookie

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,717 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

