half marathon & pre-race pasta

Last weekend I ran in my first half marathon. I didn’t know the race was even going on until about 3 days beforehand, and I made a spur of the moment decision to sign up. I wasn’t sure if I was ready or not, but I am quite happy with how I did. I might be crazy, but now I’m considering doing a full marathon at the end of October. Completing a full marathon was something I had originally anticipated doing in 2011. I figure I can start training for it (in conjunction with triathlon training of course!) and see how things progress.

Anyhoo, the night before the race I wanted to make sure I got in some healthy carbs. I know the old school notion of carb-loading is not a good idea (gorging yourself silly), but eating a healthy amount and increasing the percentage of carbs in your meal is generally recommended. I had an avocado that needed to be used up and I immediately thought of pasta della California from Veganomicon.

I changed up the recipe to accommodate what I had on-hand. I used brown rice spaghetti, and subbed spinach for the arugula and tomato for the broccoli. I also added quite a bit less veggie broth so it wouldn’t be so watery (based on some reviews I had read). I thought this was delicious and it hit the spot and fueled me up for the next morning.

For years avocados make me ill and so I avoided them like the plague. Just recently I tried eating some avocado sushi and lo and behold – no sickness! This makes me happy as they are so yummy. I keep thinking of all of the different recipes I’ve shunned over the years – now I want to go back and make them all!

4 Responses to “half marathon & pre-race pasta”


  1. 1 veganhomemade June 30, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Congrats on running the half marathon! Very impressive.

  2. 2 yosoyblog June 30, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Congrats on the half marathon! It is one of my new years resolutions to complete one this year and Im about to sign up for one in October. I’m nervous!

  3. 3 Tami (Vegan Appetite) July 20, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Wow, good for you on the half marathon! That pre-run pasta looks wonderful!


  1. 1 my new found appreciation for avocados « vegan deliciousness Trackback on July 2, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Food Photos

VPITS Key Lime Pie

VPITS Key Lime Pie

Vcon chocolate raspberry cookie

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,834 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

