A review of Gardein Herb Dijon Breasts

A couple of weeks ago I was out of town for a conference. I deliberately chose accommodations where I would have a kitchenette so that I could prepare my own food instead of being at the mercy of nearby restaurants. I figured this was healthier and I would be assured of good quality vegan food. The kitchenette had a fridge and a microwave, but no oven/stove. I went to the grocery store to stock up on fruit, veggies, hummus, and I was on the look out for things that I could microwave.

These Gardein cutlets have been out for awhile now, but generally speaking I am too cheap to buy them. I like to stick to my inexpensive legumes. But I figured they were microwavable and would be handy for my stay at the conference and so I picked up a pack of the herb dijon breasts, as I am a sucker for dijon.

The texture of the cutlet was great, very meat-like (from what I remember). However, I was NOT a fan of the sauce. It was overly sweet and just not very…good. This is the only Gardein product I’ve tried, so I’m not sure if this was a herb dijon fluke or what. It was edible, but the whole time I was eating it I was thinking that I could probably make a much better-tasting dijon sauce without much difficulty. I realize this isn’t very photogenic:

I know a lot of people really love these things, so I’m going to assume that the other flavours are better. And like I said, the cutlet itself was great, the sauce is what was the party-pooper. Overall though, I do feel these things are a bit over-priced and I probably won’t be buying them again anytime soon unless I come across a phenomenal sale.

4 Responses to “A review of Gardein Herb Dijon Breasts”


  1. 1 mihl June 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Glad to see you back and welcome to wordpress!

  2. 2 lazysmurf June 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    those gardein sauces are all too sweet, I wonder if they sell just the cutlets plain?

  3. 3 chow vegan June 24, 2010 at 3:52 am

    I don’t think I’ve tried the herb dijon one before, I like the stuffed one with the tomato sauce. I usually only buy them when they’re on sale. :-)

  4. 4 Jenny June 28, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Yeah, it’s really hard when you start to love them (I’ve only had the plain and plain breaded.) and then you are at the mercy of the price. Especially in a family of five that requires 2 bags at once.


Leave a Reply

Food Photos

VPITS Key Lime Pie

VPITS Key Lime Pie

Vcon chocolate raspberry cookie

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,716 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

