Fat Tuesday Eats

Since yesterday was Fat Tuesday, I decided to try my hand at some Cajun cooking. Living way up here in Canada, Cajun food isn’t something I’m very experienced with. First up is Happy Herbivore’s Cajun Chickpea Cakes. These babies are delicious! The mixture was pretty dry and crumbly and wouldn’t stick together, so I added some additional tamari as well as some water, worked like a charm. I simply adored the spice combo in these cakes. Since they are fat free they are a bit dry, like she says, so I suggest dipping them in something.

We also had Susan Voisin’s Eggplant Creole. This was good, but I feel like it’s missing a flavour. However, I have no idea what that flavour is since I know nothing of Louisiana cooking. Maybe my ratio of tomato to eggplant was off? Mine certainly turned out a lot saucier than her’s looks in the picture. Not sure. The heat was there, but it lacked a certain “zip.” That being said, it was still quite good and we enjoyed the nice fresh veggies. I served this over quinoa instead of rice.

0 Responses to “Fat Tuesday Eats”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Food Photos

VPITS Key Lime Pie

VPITS Key Lime Pie

Vcon chocolate raspberry cookie

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,660 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

